Skip Navigation

Home  |  Sitemap  |  Contact Us  |  Translate

Special Education Services Overview

The Montgomery Independent School District Special Education Department provides educational services to an estimated 700 students with special needs.

Teachers, instructional aides, speech pathologists and related service personnel provide instruction and related services to students who have a disability. Students are eligible for special education services from the age of 3 through 21. Students who have hearing and vision disabilities may receive services from birth.

To be eligible for special education services, students must meet eligibility requirements as a student with anorthopedic impairment, other health impairment, auditory impairment, visual impairment, diagnosis of deaf/blind, intellectual disabilities, emotional disturbance, learning disability, speech impairment, multiple disabilities, autism, non-categorical early childhood, or traumatic brain injury.

Montgomery ISD instructional arrangements for students include in-class support, resource classes and speech/language supports. Preschool Programs for Children with Disabilities (PPCD) are provided at Keenan Elementary.  Academic and Behavior Learning Environment (ABLE) and LIFE Skills classes are offered as cluster programs on various campuses.

Related services may include psychological services, occupational therapy, physical therapy, orientation and mobility training, school health services, adaptive equipment and special transportation.

Are you the parent of a pre-school (3-5 years) or school-aged child and have concerns regarding your child’s physical, speech, and/or emotional development? Is your child experiencing academic problems which could interfere significantly with educational success? If so, we encourage you to contact your child’s home campus or the MISD Special Education Department at 936-276-2460 to discuss your concerns and learn more about the referral process.

Executive Director of Special Education
Name Location Email
Meredith Burg The Learning Center meredith.burg@misd.org
Special Education Coordinator
Name Location Email
Randi Gay The Learning Center randi.gay@misd.org
Diagnosticians
Name Location Email
Aleida DeLeon Madeley Ranch Elementary & Stewart Creek Elementary aleida.deleon@misd.org
Becky Beal Montgomery High School rebecca.beal@misd.org
Carol Cheakas Montgomery Junior High carol.cheakas@misd.org
Cintia Guzman Lone Star Elementary & Lincoln Elementary cintia.guzman@misd.org
Jenny Stafford Keenan Elementary & Montgomery Elementary jenny.stafford@misd.org
Kim Bubela Lake Creek High School kimberly.bubela@misd.org
Tara McClendon Oak Hills Junior High tara.mcclendon@misd.org
Licensed Specialists in School Psychology
Name Location Email
Amy Fetters District Wide amy.fetters@misd.org
Kelly Higgins District Wide kelly.higgins@misd.org
Tori Ogletree District Wide tori.ogletree@misd.org
Special Education Counselors
Name Location Email
Karen Herzik District Wide karen.herzik@misd.org
Kerri Gilchriest District Wide kerri.gilchriest@misd.org
Behavior Specialist
Name Location Email
Jesse Hinkle District Wide jesse.hinkle@misd.org
Speech & Language Pathologists/Therapists
Name Location Email
Ashley Hall Keenan Elementary ashley.hall@misd.org
Barbara Hale Lone Star Elementary & Montgomery Junior High barabara.hale@misd.org
Jane Ann Scalf Oak Hills Junior High & Lake Creek High School janeann.scalf@misd.org
Kimberly Lagro Madeley Ranch Elementary & Stewart Creek Elementary kimberly.lagro@misd.org
Shelley Hortman Madeley Ranch Elementary, Stewart Creek Elementary, & MHS shelley.hortman@misd.org
Transition Specialist
Name Location Email
Sheila Daniels Montgomery High School & Lake Creek High School sheila.daniels@misd.org
Visual Impairment / Orientation and Mobility
Name Location Email
Cheryl Dillon District Wide cheryl.dillon@misd.org
Emily Diaz District Wide emily.diaz@misd.org
Jennifer Wasily District Wide jennifer.wasily@misd.org
Child Find Contact
Name Location Email
Randi Gay District Wide randi.gay@misd.org
Page 1 of 1

 

COPYRIGHT © 2016 - MONTGOMERY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT

Powered by ezTaskTitanium TM